Iceland Day 1 and 2

by schroyb

I successfully made my way to the glorious country of Iceland. Upon my arrival I headed towards the customs gate unsure if I was in the right place. The man patrolling the border asked me, “Are you staying in Iceland”. I quickly responded, “I sure am” and he stamped my passport with no hesitation. I then met up with my fellow class mate Heather Morba who bravely guided me to my bus.

Once in Reykjavik we walked around until noon waiting for our rooms to be ready. It was a long four hours to wait because the majority of Iceland is shut down on Sundays. Especially since a large portion are on holiday this time of year. As Heather and I cruised the city we bumped into more and more members of our group and expanded from 2 to 5. When noon finally came around it was time for a well deserved 5 hour nap. The rest of the group showed up while I was sleeping.

At 5 pm our fearless leader, Helga Luthers, arrived at our hotel and we walked as a group to her apartment. We enjoyed a pasta dinner with several different toppings to mix in the noodles. Then we were given so free time to explore the city.

Reykjavik at 10:30 pm

The gang and I decided to bond over some cocktails. Meet the gang:

Brice


Justin


Kristine


Jess


Darren


Michelle


Karl


Heather


Sean


ME


Group Pic

We celebrated until the wee hours of the morning and yet the sky never looked darker than 9 pm on the East. We did not have to leave the hotel until noon, so we got plenty of time to sleep in. Our first stop was to the local duck pond. Unfortunately for the ducks, the seagulls have taken over.

Next we walked over to City Hall to gain knowledge about Reykjavik and other parts of Iceland. We also found this great guide to dining in the city.

It was not extremely informative, but for some reason we all learned how to eat out after reading it. bahaha funny!

Finally we went to the 871 settlement exhibition. It was very interesting to learn about the first settlers of Reykjavik and early archeological finds. This long house dates all the way back to 930 AD and was abandoned because of a moisture coming into the house. I also learned that Reykjavik translates to the Bay of Smoke, because the steamy pools.

The Long House

Along the walls is an outlined layer of volcanic ash displayed in a neon light. This layer dates back to 871 AD and preserved the first archeological evidence of life in Reykjavik.

